Dinny and her brother make their escape from slavery on the pirate ship the Hades. It is the last place in the world Dinny imagined she’d meet the love of her life. Lei, a Chinese exile, recognizes Dinny as the woman of his destiny. But their new life is shattered when her former owner seeks his revenge. With the help of their friends, family, and colleagues, Dinny and Lei will face the challenges of finding love and happiness in the Caribbean world of the 17th century.

Enjoy this erotic historical romance with true-to-life relationships of both heterosexual and LGBTQ partnerships.

REVIEWS

Independent Book Review

An engaging, swashbuckling tale ~Kirkus

Daughter of Hades Receives 5 Star Rating

EXCELLENT
49 reviews on
AliciaAMG
AliciaAMG
June 2, 2022.
Verified
Daughter of Hades: Book 1 of the Love & Peace Series: Great story! (but contradictory) This is a well-researched swashbuckling historical novel in the tradition of Rafael Sabatini. There is beautiful writing here, articulate and evocative, but there are also talk-to-text errors and malapropisms. (An example would be using ‘betrayed’ when what is meant is ‘belie’.) Thus, the book could use a good editing.So we are expected to feel sympathy for pirates. Well, why not? Pirates are people, too. And many of those in the book feel themselves to be oppressed. But aren’t merchants also people? And people living in island towns who aren’t evil planters? To get to a happy ending here, an awful lot of innocent people have to die, so that two sweet lovers can have a happy reunion…Speaking of lovers…My feeling is that even beautifully-written graphic sexual passages interrupt the story by sending the reader in places the reader might not want to go.Plus, good sex isn’t that easy. You can only get such blissful descriptions by ignoring the bad moments and forgetting the funny parts. so that’s not exactly honest.And each person needs to know each other really well. Which these two hardly doSex deserves the reticence of reverence. Thus it has more power.(On the other hand, I’m glad that one of my favorite characters didn’t die.)Oddly, there is a subtle glamour of nobility and royalty, which doesn’t accord well with the desire for equality. Wonderful fun in a story, however. And always popular. I wonder why?Somehow it’s obvious that there is no God, but equally indifferent and equally invisible godlings DO exist? At least the old French priest is a nice guy, a refreshing change from how priests are usually portrayed these days.So… a mixed bag. You can read it for the adventure or skip it for the graphic passages. It’s Plus, good sex isn’t that easy. You can only get such a blissful description by ignoring the bad moments and the funny parts. so that’s not exactly honest.And each person needs to know each other really well. Which these two hardly doSex deserves the reticence of reverence. Thus it has more power.So a mixed bag. you can read it for the adventure and skip the graphic stuff or vice versa. Philosophically, it’s not offensive to Christians/Jews/Muslims but undermines some basic Christian tenets. Don’t learn your vocabulary from this book, however, because it’s 95% great and then suddenly Bam!
Read more
TA-MT
TA-MT
May 31, 2022.
Verified
Daughter of Hades: Book 1 of the Love & Peace Series: Amazing Romance read! Daughter of Hades is a fantasy that I got lost in and read in one sitting. Mack Little’s world-building allowed me to see every scene vividly.Dinny felt like she could have been a modern-day teenager with her need to escape from her oppressor. I couldn’t fathom the amount of fortitude it would take to learn my rapist had impregnated me, my parents are still under his control and living in a seaside village.What I found interesting about the entire story was the way Little developed the story to coincide with historical events. I made the connection with Lei’s story of the Ming dynasty’s fall when he was on board the Hades. The relationships that form throughout the story align with the conflicts that people face in today's world. The cliffhanger ending absolutely floored me with how Dinny’s family will progress. Adult fans of pirates, romance, and fantasy stories will enjoy Daughter of Hades.
Read more
AdrianS
AdrianS
May 27, 2022.
Verified
Daughter of Hades: Book 1 of the Love & Peace Series: vivid historical romance Daughter of Hades is a romantic adventure novel with a wealth of vivid description and historical take which gives a huge amount of character to the story world. It includes interesting elements of true life relationships with an inclusive feel.
Read more
Susan Bintz
Susan Bintz
May 24, 2022.
Verified
Daughter of Hades: Book 1 of the Love & Peace Series: This story is about slavery and piracy with a great romance Love, love, love this book. Very articulate with creative usage of language. It was easy to get caught up in the characters since they were so vividly described - their emotions and physical aspects. Even descriptions of the surroundings - the seas and islands - made you feel you were actually there experiencing it. The author stayed true to the era, using old-fashioned words that added to the experience of the book. It was a stellar depiction of what it might have been like in the 1600s era of slavery and piracy. I was enthralled through the entire book, especially with the romance between Dinny and Lei which was poignant and poetic. It was very erotic at times, but well-written, almost poetic, and it made you feel the true love between the couple. The storyline kept you involved with all of the numerous characters and how they would all fit together in the end.The contrasts between when life was good and when it was not showed the starkness and hardships of life in those times, especially for the slaves and orphans. There was brash and brazen language about the mating lives of the pirates, and their propensity to take whatever was there, “be it lass, lad, or man” but seemed to go along with the type of story line at the time. I was elated at times, shocked at other times and totally crying at others. I can’t wait to read the next in this series and would give it a six if I could.
Read more
Stockton farnsworth
Stockton farnsworth
April 27, 2022.
Verified
Daughter of Hades: Book 1 of the Love & Peace Series: I loved this book! It was a powerful, gripping adventure story with great characters. I cannot recommend this book enough. Daughter of Hades is a beautifully written book that I will never forget. It takes you on a journey through the Caribbean, The protagonist is strong and independent, which is so rare in a lot of modern Romance literature. I would recommend it to everyone who has a love for history and romance!
Read more
Edward C. James
Edward C. James
April 26, 2022.
Verified
Daughter of Hades: Book 1 of the Love & Peace Series: Steamy romance with diverse characters and beautifully-vivid descriptions. Daughter of Hades belongs to the historical romance genre. It includes true-to-life relationships of both heterosexual and LGBTQ partnerships. It portrays Caribbean history and how the rules of a terrible trades system changed from one island to another. While the rhythms of the plot will be familiar to readers of historical romance novels, the main characters are original in ways that set them apart from the standard figures that populate the genre. Part of it is the diversity of backgrounds: the author deftly foregrounds the ways race, class, gender, and sexual orientation operate in the time period. Fans of 'Outlander' and 'Black Sails' will particularly appreciate this book.
Read more
Robert F. Price
Robert F. Price
April 7, 2022.
Verified
Daughter of Hades: Book 1 of the Love & Peace Series: A Very Creative Historic Romance Kudos to the author for pouring herself into the research and deeply imaginative process this story must have required. Yes, the essence of this work is romance, but the period setting and the MCs are very unique, certainly not the typical "urban girl meets boy." I found this story refreshingly different and entertaining, which kept me turning the pages. For many reasons, I could see this story unfold as a Neflix's movie - the story, plot, and absolutely some heat between lovers.
Read more
Rick Incorvia
Rick Incorvia
March 29, 2022.
Verified
Daughter of Hades: Book 1 of the Love & Peace Series: Well Done! Erotic historical true-to-life romance? This one will be hard to put into a genre box. The author obviously did a lot of homework for this story. What a beautiful job bringing the readers into a scene. Sometimes very deep into a scene. This is a story to devour. Mack Little . . . You are a wild thing. Write-on.
Read more
LC
LC
March 15, 2022.
Verified
Daughter of Hades: Book 1 of the Love & Peace Series: WOW Without giving away too much of this, I'd like to say that the narrative of this book and the intricate storyline and plot blew me away- I was not expecting to be so intrigued and hooked! Book 2 please!!
Read more
FLS
FLS
March 13, 2022.
Verified
Daughter of Hades: Book 1 of the Love & Peace Series: Beautifully written It's been a while since I've read such an exquisitely written romance novel. This book is everything I love, adventure, romance, strong FMC, and historical accuracy. I especially love the author's note and works cited page! I will admit there was a lot of violence and detailed descriptions of assault which I feel like there should be a content warning for (or I missed it?) The first chapter grabs you (and describes the female's struggle with assault she just endured and runs from) but the prose is delectable. Highly recommend.
Read more